back to
Cosmic Bridge Records
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Self - The Remixes

by Om Unit

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £4 GBP  or more


  • Limited Edition 12" Vinyl
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    140g Black vinyl pressing, white inners and premium matte black 3mm spined sleeve. Vinyl mastered and cut by Lewis at Star Delta. Label artwork from Studio Tape-Echo. Limited to 500 copies.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Self - The Remixes via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



A1. What I Can Be ft. Amos (A dBridge Modification)
A2. Passages (SKRS Batta&BruiseVIP)
B1. Nothing ft. Rider Shafique (Sorrow Remix)
B2. Tahatan (O$VMV$M Redux)

Om Unit completes the journey of discovery and growth he begun on 2017’s acclaimed Self album with a pack of four remixes that expand on the themes and sonic palette of the record. A connector at heart, the man known as Jim Coles invites likeminded producers to interpret songs that bridge the album’s flexible styles and embrace the vulnerability and exposure at its core.

First up is dBridge, who modifies “What I Can Be” featuring Amos, aka Amina Osmano of A/T/O/S. A pioneer of the drum & bass scene and fearless sonic explorer, dBridge gives the song a subtle but tense touch, placing harsh and abrasive progressions and dissolving snares against the softness of Amos’ voice and beauty of the subject matter. “I always liked Darren’s own vocal tracks so I wanted to hear what he would do with this one,” explains Coles. “I love the result and it made perfect sense to me as a dBridge fan.”

Following this is the inimitable SKRS (aka Seekers International) out of British Columbia, whose sound system experiments have been some of the most vital in recent years. They first caught the ear of Coles via a recommendation in Bristol’s Idle Hands shop and it turns out the appreciation was mutual. Here they lend their deconstructing touch to “Passages”, keeping the original’s melodies while pushing it further into a soundboy abyss of flying rhythms and vocal samples. No sound test.

Up next is Birmingham’s Sorrow, a young producer who refashions one of the album’s stand out cuts, “Nothing” featuring Rider Shafique. A meditation on suffering and change, Sorrow gives the song a melancholic feel, keeping its slow pace while rising its hopeful potential with deep anchoring chords. “It’s a real headphone masterpiece in my book,” says Coles of the remix.

Completing the circle of Self Remixes is O$VMV$M, the ambient and lo-fi duo of Young Echo members Sam “Neek” Barrett and Amos “Jabu” Childs. Here the pair apply their ethereal smudge to “Tahatan”, slowing everything down until it feels as if you were hearing the song from just beneath the surface of the sea, the sound distant and the sunlight reflecting and creating shimmers in your field of vision.

What began as a desire to experiment and push forward for Om Unit comes to a rightful and hopeful end with this short remix collection, opening the door to others and letting them apply the reflections of their own journeys onto the material.

Self Remixes is released on 12” Vinyl & Digital on 7th Sept 2018 on Cosmic Bridge Records.


released September 7, 2018

Written & Produced by J.Coles.
Vocals on A1 Amina Osmano. Vocals on B1 by Rider Shafique
Mastered by Bob Macc at Subvert Central
Vinyl Master & Cut by Lewis Hopkin at Star Delta


all rights reserved



Om Unit Bristol, UK

DJ / Electronic Music Producer

UK/EU Bookings: kavan@lb-






... more


contact / help

Contact Om Unit

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Om Unit, you may also like: